Throwback Thursday

Image

 

 

I have no recollection of these pictures being taken.

This week I stumbled upon them while sifting through hundreds of photos which had been sitting on my camera collecting virtual dust.  Given the lack of, well, anything in the background I can conclude that they were taken this winter, and if pressed I could probably come up with a rough idea of precisely when- but it doesn’t really matter.  There’s a very good chance that I was actually present when these pictures were taken, but clearly I missed the moment.

What might be surprising to some is that I don’t really mind.  It was such a pleasant surprise to come across them this week, and to be let in on this special moment at all, that I’m more glad it happened than I am disappointed that I don’t remember it.  And I’m probably even a little proud that my girls could come up with such a creative method of entertaining themselves without my help… Yeah, they don’t stand a chance of running with the cool kids when they get to school.  

Today I looked around our home and realized that it has rapidly filled itself up.  The walls are no longer bare- in fact, there isn’t a corner in the whole place which doesn’t have some kind of arts and crafts displayed in it.  Our lives are filling up pretty quick too.  Earlier this year I came home to the realization that I had, in the space of a week, volunteered myself for no less than five different roles in our new church.  Yes, I would like to join the worship team.  And the choir.  And, you have an orchestra for major holidays too?  Sign me up!  And yes, I’ll help with VBS, and come to the BIble study, and the women’s circle, and I’d be more than happy to write for the newsletter… and, wait, you want to offer me a job??   (Yep, I am now employed!)  And now that it’s spring and we live in a place where the sun shines with some regularity, let’s go camping!  and ride bikes!  And lose weight, and grow our own vegetables and make our own soup and granola and…

What do you get when you find yourself in the rare position of having the time and resources to do all of the things that you want to?  Tired, that’s what.  

I am exhausted, but as I look around at the life we’ve managed to cobble together so far, I can’t help but feel content.  Our kids have had to do a lot of adapting over the past year, but is that such a bad thing if it means they learn to use their creativity and resources?  Every single object in our home holds a value, a purpose or a memory, or a memory for us.  All of the things we do or commit to are things we’re passionate about.  My problem, of course, is that perhaps I am passionate about way too many things.  Wait… is an abundance of passion a problem?  Answers on a postcard…

(By the way- it’s good to be back, friends.  I’ve missed you.)

 

 

2 thoughts on “Throwback Thursday

  1. Great to be reading your blog again and it’s lovely to hear you’ve settled in so well. It sounds like you’re right where you need to be :-)

  2. Wow! You have been busy :-) So glad that contentment reigns with you and looking forward to reading more. Oh, and more info on YOUR job please… You can’t just drop that in and leave it!
    (oh, and we’ve missed you too):-)

Leave a Reply

