Link Love

20131017-120109.jpg

My reading list for today.

This week a good friend asked me ‘So what are you reading at the moment?’  To which I replied, ‘Uh… that’s a good question.’

The fact is that with two small children and a life in limbo at the moment I find that moments with two hands free and a functional brain are few and far between.  I really miss being able to get stuck in a good book- which is why I love blogs.  A variety of food for thought; small, bite-size pieces.

So today I thought I’d share what’s inspiring me in my moments of lucidity this week  Here we go:

This is why I love working with teenagers– they are so much more capable than we generally give them credit for.

My friend Robin should be a motivational speaker.  She also bakes amazing cakes.  If you’re trying to lose weight, you must read this.

Ever had someone tell you ‘God won’t give you more than you can handle’?  Ever been given more than you can handle?  This pastor tells it like it is.

If I suddenly find myself with time and two free hands this weekend, I might make some awesome playdough.  And while we’re at it, my favorite Children’s ministry blog given me inspiration for family time on talking about God’s love.  I think it might be a great thing to do together as we prepare for my departure.

And if you need a good (although somewhat irreverent) laugh, why not check out How Feminine Am I? A Checklist for Godly Women.  You’re welcome.

Now it’s your turn!  What are YOU reading at the moment?

4 thoughts on “Link Love

  1. Great blog! I’m purely reading social work related books, journals and articles at the minute as I’m working on my first assignment. It’s really interesting though fortunately! I enjoyed a break to have a look at your recommendations – thanks!

  2. Ok, so I’m reading bits of Sticky Faith, we’re choosing a word from the dictionary a day and trying to throw it into our day, your blog, Robin’s blog, Beast Quest (to keep up with B’s interests), Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, bits of Abrahams’s story, and occasionally people’s minds…….

  3. I started with the how feminine am post I because there’s much debate over that in terms of the lesbian community as well and that was the best laugh I’ve had in quite some time. I clearly fail their test but wouldn’t mind more cute 50s dresses…

  4. Well, seeing as I currently am stuck in bed and unable to do much (unless the munchkins come and bounce or read with me) I am getting to read quite a lot – please don’t hate me – 10 grown-up books in the last week and a half, not to mention at least 15 different children’s books, depending on which child happens to have come through to me! 2 by John Ortberg, ‘Amish values for your life’, 2 novels based around stories about the Amish, War Horse, and 4 novels of various types a neighbour has lent me, my favourite of which is called ‘The Art of Racing in the Rain’. And, of course, your blog! Oh, and the Bible!!

Leave a Reply

