The Dining Room Table Paradox

20130730-212058.jpgThe Last Supper

I’m feeling a lot of mixed emotions as we part with our dining room table today.

Finally, after eleven years I have furniture that matches;

we’re selling it, having owned it less than a year.

It’s big enough to seat eight friends;

it spends most of its time covered in the clutter of a busy week.

My kid spent so many hours giggling, creating, and discovering in these chairs;

my kid peed on these chairs SO many times.

So many memorable pancake breakfasts;

so many forgettable arguments.

It’s so pretty.

That thing was so flippin’ hard to clean.

I don’t know when we’ll be sitting around a dining room table again;

I hope this table brings many, many blessings to its new home.

2 thoughts on “The Dining Room Table Paradox

  1. Do you need to borrow a table? I have a table you can borrow. It’s not as nice as yours, but it can be yours for as long as you need it. The table we use for our computer desk used to be my Grandma’s. I remember playing hide n seek with Truska the poodle. We’d take turns hiding under it, or I’d pass her food from it, or we’d share a snack under it. You can add three weeks worth of memories to it …x

  2. Pingback: Ummm… the dog ate my homework | Red, Green, and Blue

Leave a Reply

